Flying Steps

  • Artist

    YELENA ECKEMOFF (piano & compositions) DAREK OLEZSKIEWICZ (double bass) PETER ERSKINE (drums)

  • Released

    December 14, 2010

  • Genre


The brilliant new release from pianist/composer Yelena Eckemoff titled “Flying Steps” is a musical excursion with one of the most captivating composers of today. Eckemoff is joined here by the great Peter Erskine on drums, and Darek Oleszkiewicz on bass. This release is the third installment of a trio of recordings recently released by Eckemoff. Her first two “Cold Sun” and “Grass Catching Wind” both received worldwide critical acclaim. “Flying Steps” is a very personal journey for Eckemoff. Selections such as “For Harry,” “Tears Will Come,” and “Tomorrow” which are inspired by her personal relationships, to her inner self which is featured in “Isolated.” Yelena Eckemoff is music for listening. The intricacies and passion for which this music is presented will have you asking “when is the fourth installment.

Press Release by Chris DiGiloramo